The Cost of Loss

Standard

What is the cost of loss?

How does it accumulate?

Why doesn’t it erode like gain?

The feelings of numbness,  the emptiness it brings

The loss of too much, still attached with bone deep strings

The erosion of self

The net worth of pain

Looking in the mirror at a face in disdain

Too much, the weight of pain

Too much, the sorrow of despair

Too  much, the time all alone

Too much, too much…too much…

The cost of loss encompasses all

The accumulation of loss compares to nothing at all

The sliding down feeling of why try at all

Too much, too much…too much…

What is the cost of loss?

Alejandro: thank you for pointing this song in my direction.

Live Version

21 responses »

  1. Some days it seems as though the only good thing about this life is that each and every day will eventually come to an end. Time does not heal all wounds, but I think hope can make them bearable. And writing them out, exposing them to the light of day is always better than letting them fester in silence. Be well, and keep holding “Hope…the thing with feathers” in your hands. :)

  2. btw..here are the lyrics to the song/videos:
    Alejandro Guzman May 30 at 10:13am Report
    “Into My Arms”

    I don’t believe in an interventionist God
    But I know, darling, that you do
    But if I did I would kneel down and ask Him
    Not to intervene when it came to you
    Not to touch a hair on your head
    To leave you as you are
    And if He felt He had to direct you
    Then direct you into my arms

    Into my arms, O Lord
    Into my arms, O Lord
    Into my arms, O Lord
    Into my arms

    And I don’t believe in the existence of angels
    But looking at you I wonder if that’s true
    But if I did I would summon them together
    And ask them to watch over you
    To each burn a candle for you
    To make bright and clear your path
    And to walk, like Christ, in grace and love
    And guide you into my arms

    Into my arms, O Lord
    Into my arms, O Lord
    Into my arms, O Lord
    Into my arms

    And I believe in Love
    And I know that you do too
    And I believe in some kind of path
    That we can walk down, me and you
    So keep your candlew burning
    And make her journey bright and pure
    That she will keep returning
    Always and evermore

    Into my arms, O Lord
    Into my arms, O Lord
    Into my arms, O Lord
    Into my arms

  3. The loss of too much…still attached to bone.

    Ouch. I could almost FEEL l that image. Ouch.

    Thank you for writing this.

  4. Hi Stuart -

    Too much of anything is not good. Too much ice cream, ok. That’s the only acceptable splurge you get. Every thing else, way too much for you. How true is this phrase, “The cost of loss encompasses all.” Very true if we allow it to be that way. People are infamous for harboring despair. In some odd ways, some people seem to like it in their sub-conscious and they don’t even realize it. Where there is this sort of aching manifestation occurring deep within, it’s also a sure guarantee there are resentments from the past that need to be addressed….and ASAP! Nice Poem Stuart. :)

Leave a Reply

