Birdsongs: The Virtuous War

Standard


Birdsongs: The Virtuous War

When I wrote the first part of Birdsongs: The Walkabout Man, I found I had a lot of stories that I wanted to tell in this world.  I left paths in the story for me to travel on another time: Why is Serenite away with others from the Mukel, and why is Otium so concerned?; What was the Honey Bee Dreaming?; What is the music of language?; Why should we Never Avert Our Eyes?; and Why is The Walkabout Man coming?

One of the things that puzzled me was “where did the Walkabout Man get the layers and layer of virtues”? Virtues play a role in these tales. I pretty much know where I’m taking this, utilizing the abstracts of virtues.

Birdsongs: The Virtuous War, answers part of the question I posed to myself. The reason it’s not here? I entered a contest on Figment: to write a fable, keeping it under 1,200 words, where the setting of the story is in an imaginary land on the day before a final battle. Oh…and Paulo Coelho, modern fablist author of “The Alchemist,” would be reading the top ten finalists and choosing the winner of the bunch.   I would like that chance, to be read and hopefully critiqued by an author I admire. There is a top prize of money, but in all honesty: I would love the chance to get professional feedback more right now.

So, here is what I’m asking you to do: click on the link to Birdsongs: The Virtuous War. Read it, and ONLY IF you like it, please “heart” it (and leave a comment if you’d be so kind). Now, the only snag: you have to join Figment (no cost). I have had others join to read, writers have created new pages, and a few others logged on, voted, and then deleted their joining. I WILL be writing and posting more on that site ( I entered a lyrics contest for the fun of it), so…if you join, and you like my work, just let it sit. You’ll also find a wide range of reading on the site. I’ve enjoyed a number of tales already.

REMEMBER: if you read it and like it, great. If you do not like it, or decide not to read it: PLEASE DO NOT HEART IT. I am serious. I want to get this on merit, not trolling for votes. The only way I’m stomaching my asking you this: I’d like you to read my work. Plain and simple. I want honest feedback. I want to be a better writer.

Thank you one and all. More Birdsongs will be on their way.

12 responses »

  1. in these summer days I get a cahance to enjoy the birdsongs,especially of thrushes who are at war with each other,a virtuous war really!All this came to my mind while reading your article.Well, I’m too small to pass any comment.

    Like

  2. I did read it and I did like it. I enjoy this type of writing..taking you into other worlds…following the characters and watching them build….weaving Mystic into the story….looking forward to the next chapter…

    Like

Leave a Reply

