Let Me Cradle The Earth

Standard

Let me cradle the Earth
While I hurt deep inside
Every day passes
As part of me dies
I’m feeling the sorrow
Of far away shame
Hoping that someone 
Can love me again.
 
I dream of awareness
But it never comes
The sky up above me
Makes me fell alone
So I hide where I can
And I run from the pain
Yet it follows and hounds me
It just won’t let me be
 
I cradle the Earth
As it carries me
Far from the truth
Of what I want to be
I cradle the Earth
Eventually, it will me
Together we’ll float
Through an eternity
 
You’ve expected me to be
This way or that
I’m telling you something
That’s not where I’m at
I won’t meet your standards
I wont be your fool
I’ll walk alone my own way
I’ll walk alone my way
I’ll just walk alone
 
I cradle the Earth
As it carries me
Far from the truth
Of what I want to be
I cradle the Earth
Eventually, it will me
Together we’ll float
Through an eternity
 
22 responses »

  1. “I cradle the Earth As it carries me far from the truth Of what I want to be” and “I’ll walk alone my way” and so on. So many beautiful sentiments, phrases, meanings. Love it.

    Like

    • SJ…I will give it a shot as soon as I finish answering. I’m curious: does a meaning change for you that way? Is it like the Beatles, where people heard messages in Sgt. Pepper backwards? 😉
      Thank you.

      Like

      • LOL no, no messages, just seems a little deeper the other way and I meant read each line from bottom up not literally reading it backwards LOL it wouldn’t make sense and yes there could be some strange and wonderful messages but I daredn’t find out. Did you try it?

        Like

      • I know what you meant, SJ. I was just wondering if I’d hear “Paul Is Dead” or “Get Stu A Girlfriend Quick!” if we tried it. 😉

        I did read it from bottom to top. Most of it worked; a few lines I didn’t feel it connected that way, but it becomes something else. Next up: Mirror Poems: what can we get out of the poem when held up to a mirror? 😉 lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

