Giving Up A Lifetime

Standard

I haven’t moved for an hour
It’s not what it seems
If I continue down the road I’m on
I’ll get lost in my dreams
But if I don’t travel it
Who knows what might have been?
 
I gave up a lifetime
By going nowhere
Others got my caring
It stripped me quite bare
So now it’s just me alone
And I need to move on
 
But something has a hold of me
It’s not letting me go
While others have done just that
Letting go, letting go
But something has a hold of me
Keeping me in place
I need to move forward
Letting go, letting go
 
I haven’t moved for an hour
It’s not what it seems
If I continue down the road I’m on
I’ll get lost in my dreams
 
18 responses »

  1. Really liked this. It resonated. For so long I was afraid to let go – both in life (holding onto negative relationships) and in my writing. So, at some point recently, the person I let go of thought all my previous “I love you’s” were false, too. Before I could embrace and let go, I had to let go. Great poem/song, thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  2. Writing is great but there are also other ways to get lost in your dreams (higher self). As I get older and have had many life experiences I feel satisfied (? enough). My dreams and spiritual search are becoming more and more important to me and complications and problems of real life fade away. At times they actually involve me in “real life” but always for the better.
    Enjoy your experiences in the moment.

    Like

  3. Such an evocative poem Stuart about something I know I have struggled with, letting go and taking a leap of faith into the scary unknown, the place of our dreams.
    I finally found the courage to step forward into the dream world where I didnt get lost, but found myself…it is a a magical place…let go, let go

    Like

Leave a Reply

