Lament Lulabye

Standard

“I wish spoken words were things that could be erased,
forgotten.  
But now I knew, and we could never go back. 
She broke my heart that evening and it never mended
There’s a piece missing there and I know it’ll never grow back.”
 
Those were words I wrote so long ago now…
I carry the memories with me wherever I am.
I wonder what would happen today if I found her
I wonder if I’d be so willing to let her just go.
 
The years have gone by,
With some of them kind,
But mainly they’ve passed me, alone.
The piece that was torn out and stomped on the ground
Was bleeding a long time, no remedy found.
Now if I had reached down inside, swallowed my pride,
I would have said the words she needed to hear.
 
Yes I loved you, I admit, I still really do
You were right more times than not.
I wouldn’t give in, my pride a sin,
So you took what you had and said goodbye.
 
I wish spoken words were things that could be erased,
forgotten.  
But now I knew, and we could never go back. 
She broke my heart that evening and it never mended
There’s a piece missing there and I know it’ll never grow back
6 responses »

Leave a Reply

