When I Was A Child

Standard

                             When I was a child
                             Things were just so wild
                              It was you and me
                             We were really free
                             Always on the run
                             Always having fun
                             When I was a child
 
                             I remember things so clearly               
                             Growing up as I did
                             My friends and I played daily
                             At nighttime we hid
 
                             Our minds went exploring
                             With every book we read
                             The page’s were like lightning
                             ‘Maginations…fully fed
 
                             When I was a child
                             Things were just so wild
                             It was you and me
                             We were really free
                             Always on the run
                             Always having fun
                             When I was a child
 
                              And in our dreams we’d tumble
                             Exploring new found shores
                             Filling our nights with treasure
                             By opening up new doors
 
                             When I look upon it now
                             A smile will find my face
                             I’ll never be alone
                             My memories…a saving grace
 
                              When I was a child
                             Things were just so wild
                             It was you and me
                             We were really free
                             Always on the run
                             Always having fun
                             When I was a child
 
                             It was you and me….
                             We were really free…
                             When I was a child…

****************               *******************                    *********************

This is a song I wrote in the mid to late ’90s.  My theater company, The Brothers Grinn, had a lot of songs under our belt(s) and we decided to record our own music cassette. Yes, cassette. CD’s were on the way in, but cassettes were still a viable music medium. I have probably over 100 cassettes still.

When I have a chance, I’ll figure out how to download the music and post it here. Otherwise, hope you like the lyrics. Yes, I also wrote the music, with an assist from my (then) musical director, Christopher Carbone.

 

 

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

