The Day You Walk Away

Standard

Where will we be ten years from today?
Will you still be loving me…
Will you still stay?
It’s hard to admit how I’m feeling right now
How much I depend on you
How much I can allow
(Where your breath stops, mine just begins)

 

Will I grow another year older
Without someone to call my own?
I’m frightened and lonely-
I need you to hold me-
There is nothing else I want or I need
You have to believe
That I always grieve
For the day you’ll walk away

 

Do I frighten you, are you scared
To see how much I can care
That tomorrow I’ll see your face
That there is nothing else I want
To take that incredible place
Whether in dreamtime or real
It’s your lips I need to feel…

 

Will I grow another year older
Without someone to call my own?
I’m frightened and lonely
I need you to hold me
There is nothing else I want or I need
You have to believe
That I always grieve
For the day you’ll walk away

 

Where will we be ten years from today?
I think you won’t be around
You didn’t stay,
’cause I scared you away
Your heart wasn’t as true
For all of your fucking “I love you’s!”

 

What difference does it make to us today?
Hold me closer…
You are slipping away.
15 responses »

  1. I love your writing! I wanted so badly to share one on my Facebook and had such a difficult time choosing which was my favorite. I ended up choosing Sonnet:Unto Forever, but this would have been my second choice. I love how alive your words are and the feeling they leave me with when I’ve read them. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Oh, this could be a start of a doomed marriage. It could be helicopter parents and their children. In either case, the vocalizer lacks self-esteem. The voice resonates with the need for another to validate it, its aspirations, and its core.
    True love should involve two equal participants, both able to stand alone, but the union yields a multiplying effect that cannot be enumerated.

    Like

  3. An interesting poem Stuart. What I took from the words is love that is fearful, love that is scared, love that is cloying, love that tethers, no matter how tight the tether, eventually seeks release and you are left alone, as you predicted because of the need to be loved.
    Quite powerful –

    Like

Leave a Reply

