Sonnet: Danielle Lay Dying

Standard

The dreams slip away; the light grows so cold.

The uttering of promises to live

Are so many shattered souls, truth be told.

With all that was taken, what do you give?

Bleakest reality now  became lies

We’ve  becomes what we are; The damning done

No more held together, deepening sighs

Time has fallen out; it’s course it did run.

But, what if you had not strayed, nor had I?

The oath we took once never lost it’s zeal

So for each other we did not deny

To the end of our days it was real.

The hurting must end: I am so tired

Spin the dice, herbal bliss, I am so mired.

************************************************************

K, I’m not sure if this is the end of Danielle or not, but for now, I’m laying her to rest.

For yesterdays post, I got another award:

The Versatile Blogger award was given to me by Nancy Rose of Quintessence Creations Blog. I hope you will follow her as she has a lot of qualities that the blogging world is about:

Nancy  has spent many years collecting inspirational items for her home. She loves angels,  inspirational art, essential oil candles. They evoke feelings and emotions in Nancy. She becomes peaceful, centered, joyful. She feels protected and loved. She feels energized to reach her dreams.
Nancy has spent over 10 years doing energy work.  She has been on her spiritual path for over 15 years.  She has worked in computer industry for over 30 years. She has a masters in business administration. She is a spiritual minister.

Now, I’m supposed to tell you seven thing about myself (I think I’ve done that already a number of times) and I’m supposed to pass it on to 15 blogs I’ve recently discovered. To be honest, like a good friend of mine on another blog, the passing out of the awards and taking them in IS a positive thing; I will have to do it at another time. I do appreciate the gestures, but I would like to pass a moratorium on them. Please don’t think I’m ungrateful: I am very grateful to get these, but…I am taking the time to honor this away from writing, which is what I need to do. NEED TO DO. I hope you understand.

14 responses »

  1. I hate to admit, my foggy brain (comes with some of my meds at certain times), had me mired in the words and I had to read this several times, ’til
    all the lines got through and I understood it. I like it, it’s not obvious, and I think that makes it much more creative. Glad you’re not done with Danielle.

  2. Wonderful ! The “herbal bliss” in your last line made me think of the ‘star cross’d lovers’ .
    Perhaps a R&J styled scenario in the pipe line ?

  3. Love the sonnet. Deep, dark feeling. Resonates with me.

    Understand all too well your last two lines. You NEED to do your own writing. I also NEED to get back to my own writing and sometimes, too much blogging can interfere with it. Good luck with your writing .

    • Thanks for picking up on it Penelope. Yeah, we can spend a terrible amount of time out there reading and commenting on blogs. I try to do what I can, now, in a much more controlled space. I don’t comment as much as I used to, but I Do read through. Not everyone understands that.

Leave a Reply

