The Brother Spectrum

Standard

Night, a dark room,  twin beds on opposite walls.

“William. William. William…when I die, will I still look out for you? William? I know I’ll be in heaven. How far is heaven, William? How far is heaven? William? William?  When I die, will I still look out for you?”

William lay awake on his back in his bed, a baseball cap clenched between his teeth. His open eyes stared into the darkness, his thoughts playing colors and sound, zig-zagging around.

Johnny beat his chest, bit his palm, said “William, when I die, will I still look out for you? William?”

319279_309716635708335_224328044247195_1493497_1642427703_n

***************************************

The above is a Drabble, a 100 word story. It was a prompt for the first day of the StoryADay challenge.

I have not been writing much at all, in fact it has been a chore at times, simply because of personal things I’ve been going through. I will attempt to do this: a story a day for the month of May. We’ll see how it all goes.

Any readers of mine know that I will write in any style that suits me. I hope to stretch a bit and get things moving again. Time will tell.

2 responses »

  1. Hey Stuart! So you surfaced in the Story A Day in May! Me too.
    Writing Routine Interrupted…. sorry to hear that. Hope the tangles are loosened soon.
    Drabbling around!
    This post about William is compelling. It continues to turn and twist in my mind……. Good job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

