Hill Blocks View (SIGNS: #AtoZChallenge)

Standard

Hill Blocks ViewAndersville thrived at the base of Anders Hill. Except for the wander lust of the young who felt there was always something better beyond the town, just over the hill, most of the residents lived their entire lives satisfied where they were.

Kelly would, when time allowed, sit at different angles around the hill, painting. She took in the colors, the landscape that  changed with the seasons, the wild life that inhabited the hill, her neighbors, and she would paint.

She saw the world majestic in this hill, in the beauty that was presented.

She crafted poetry on her canvases.

 

***********************************

 

For the April 2014 A to Z Blog Challenge, you will find a story a day (except Sundays) from me. A to Z: Staring with A on Tuesday, April 1st and ending with Z on Wednesday, April 30th.

Signs is my theme for this year’s outing. Road signs, building signs, warning signs…Signs alert us to a multitude of messages. My plan is to use the alphabet through Signage, but not to stick to what the sign was originally intended to convey. So, the genre of story writing, and styles, of the posts will vary as my mood and interpretation sees fit. Possibly a poem or two. We’ll see.

I’m also trying something more of a challenge: each post will be a Drabble. A Drabble is 100 Words Exactly.

I hope you enjoy the short pieces.

10 responses »

  1. Stuart –

    It has been said already, but your theme is wholly unique and captured my interest. It will be interesting to see if you can find a sign for each letter (unless you already have) and I learned from your post what a drabble is! I certainly appreciate the restrictions that you have set for yourself and look forward to seeing how the challenge goes!

    Like

    • Hi Chris: Thanks for the comments. For the most part I have each sign chosen, but not the story idea yet. When I get to that letter I might change the sign if I’m not totally inspired. We’ll see. Hope you enjoy what’s to come.

      Like

    • Thank you. I’ve had the idea for Signs for awhile, but it was on the way back burner. I have Lisa to thank for getting me motivated to do this. Glad you enjoyed this one.

      Like

  2. I can read so much into this – that the hill is seen as an obstruction by some, as a creative source by the artist. It provides shelter to wildlife and to the village at its feet, and also a window into the world beyond. Well done!

    Like

  3. Stuart,

    I read all your challenge stories and enjoyed them all immensely. You have chosen such an interesting theme. I love the challenge of trying to make a story out of something random but I haven’t yet considered signs!.There’s something very satisfying about doing things in an unusual way. I guess with thought everything can lead to an interesting tale. Anyway, your stories have inspired me. I love your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sue: Thank you so much. This was a great message to wake up to. I just found your blog and will be exploring it more. Again,, thank you for the kind words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

