Reflections: Vincent’s Descent

Standard
Reflections: Vincent’s Descent

Vincent’s Descent is a 26 part story (16,022 words total) that began on April 1st, 2023. If you are interested in reading it, after slogging through the below reflection, I suggest you start HERE. Comments are always read and welcome.

Vincent’s Descent began as a writing prompt.

It was generated during A Prompting of Writers, a group I created and moderate that meets on Saturday mornings (10 am EST/EDT: contact me if you are interested). The prompt I gave the writers was to use any creative figure that they truly loved and knew. Flash Fiction, just under an hour of writing, and then we share with some feedback. The idea stemmed from The Pale Blue Eye show on Netflix (Edgar Allan Poe as the MC) and a few other uses of literary figures as characters.

Vincent Van Gogh was my choice for the piece. I enjoyed what I wrote, and when I decided (extremely last minute) to join this year’s AtoZ, that story was what I used as my jumping-off point.

Van Gogh remained the base foundation for Vincent’s Descent: his color palette, how he applied his paints, the swirls, the golden fields, the starry nights, and his madness. It all influenced many aspects of what I wrote over this challenge.

Almost every title of my AtoZ was based on Art terminology, primarily fine arts but also architecture. I plumbed the online FreeArtDictionary for title ideas when nothing immediately came to mind. Some of the posts (Yosti in particular, but others as well) gave me the clues I needed to complete that day’s posting.

The whole thing with the birds came about with the letter B, and The Beatles song Blackbird got stuck in my head. “Take these broken wings and learn to fly” led me to Vincent breaking one of his attackers wings. With his teeth? Well, horror/brutal, y’know.

Also, I’m not a huge fan of birds.

People have asked me about how I name my characters/places. Usually the name must have a meaning that fits the story. Vincent seems obvious, but beyond that it means “Prevailing.” Humi, Vincent’s late addition father, means “Twilight.” “Oralee,” Vincent’s mom, means “My Light.” I chose Maria as that was the name of the daughter of Sien Hoornik, the only woman Vincent is known to have lived with. As to Ms. Faye Smythe (the only character with a surname): Faye was a play on the Fae (elves) and Smythe came about from looking at my bookshelf, seeing my copy of Lore Olympus by Rachel Smythe, and boom! Faye Smythe.

As to anything disjointed or lost over the month, my apologies. If you’ve followed my writing at any time, you know I am a Pantser. I write daily (well, um, yeah, a few days I couldn’t write; I don’t pre-write, seeing that takes the challenge out of this being a challenge.) without an organized schematic, no notes, no plans. The characters/story take me on a daily journey, and then by the end of the month I’m trying to pull it all together and plug up all the holes, big and small. Sometimes it works out.

I’ve mentioned this here and there: I look at the AtoZ as my First Draft Plus. Previous years have had wider followings, and I’ve been asked to take the work, add to it to novelize it. The Abysmal Dollhouse series is one I continue to work on. It keeps alluding me.

I want to thank everyone who did follow along and left commentary and likes. This was my least visited year with AtoZ, but the point is that I so truly appreciate those of you who did follow along. The comments were extremely helpful. Some made me laugh, others had me twiddling my fingers and doing my best villains laugh. Chilling.

Taa Daa! We can now tie a bow around the 2023 AtoZ Blog Challenge.

What did you think about Vincent’s Descent? This Reflection? Tacos?

15 responses »

  1. This is a good look at your process. Interesting to know that it started with a writing prompt to a group, and that you drew further inspiration from some of your titles. And I get what you mean about First Draft Plus!!!! It is both fun and a challenge to publish a section of an ongoing fiction piece every day, to make a public commitment to the details in each section before you’ve ever seen the work as a whole.

    Congratulations on completing the challenge this year!

    Like

    • To you as well. I really enjoy your work, and this year was no exception.

      Over the years, the titles pushed me along more times than not. That is probably the only thing I wrote before tackling the story/poem/song lyrics.

      Like

  2. How wonderous that the challenge gave your “panster” self an extra motivation to write. I did enjoy that Netflix movie, too. Sounds like it was a good month for you, overall.
    I enjoyed the April Blogging from #AtoZChallenge 2023.
    Proof of Existence, book two in my dark urban fantasy series, came out in April. I hope you’ll check it out.
    And please don’t miss the amazing giveaway on my blog. Act fast and enter now!

    J Lenni Dorner (he/him 👨🏽 or 🧑🏽 they/them) ~ Reference& Speculative Fiction Author, OperationAwesome6 Debut Author Interviewer, and Co-host of the #AtoZchallenge

    Like

  3. What a great reflections post – I really enjoyed hearing about your process. Your series is one I’ve already earmarked to get back to, and am looking forward to digging in.

    Like

  4. Tacos? Yes, please. Fun fact: I do not like horror (usually), not in writing and not in movies/TV. But I have enjoyed your various A to Z’s over the several years I’ve participated, and this one was my favorite. I’m a pantser, too, but I am not writing stories, just blog posts about this and that. You pulled it off! I’m glad this work had a (somewhat) happy ending. Alana ramblinwitham

    Like

    • Thank you so very much, Alana. You don’t know what you’ve written/said means to me. I’m glad you enjoyed this one. Favorite, huh? What do you think: more life in this piece beyond?

      Again, thank you.

      Like

      • I was under the impression that you weren’t interesting in carrying this series/world forward, and your Z wrapup post seemed to be an end to the adventures of Vincent, Faye and Maria. But I do have an unanswered question. Vincent mated with Her Lavender Grace so there may be baby birds resulting from this encounter. Do they, then, have the ability to portal to our world, since they carry half Vincent DNA? And will they be raised in our world, or the world where Vincent is the Grackle Lord? Would the person to raise the be Humi? If you decided to return to this storyline, this might be a way to expand on this world – or should I say, these worlds? Alana ramblinwitham

        Like

        • It was just a question since you enjoyed the piece.

          Yes, HLG did conceive as far as I am concerned. As to your other points, the baby/ies would also be portals. That’s Vincent. That was his mother. AHA! That is all hinted at. Why would he have that power? How would Mom know how to calm him? Why is dad such a dick?

          So, all of that was so hidden/laid out. I didn’t plan the mating at first, but his Mother as more? Yes, I did , and no one questioned it.

          Like

  5. I’m stopping by to say Hello on the 2023 A to Z challenge Road Trip! I’m sorry I didn’t discover this blog during the April challenge as it would have been great fun to read your ongoing installments every day. I’m going back through them now. What a great idea for writing a story.

    Like

Leave a comment